Annie’s Dilemma

Written for the February 2022 Monthly Simlit Short Story Challenge

“Oh, excuse me,” Annie exclaimed, “I’m sorry I didn’t see you!”

“Hello, no harm done,” the handsome stranger said laughing as he took ahold of her arms to prevent her fall.

“Nice bumping into you!”

He added with a big grin, “My name is Nestor, how do you do?

I’m new here in Henford on Bagley.”

Before she could stop herself Annie blurted out a little too energetically, “I know!”

Nestor smiled as she attempted to regain her composure, “I mean …

I uhhh …

I haven’t seen you around here before.”

Stopping, she shrugged a little self-deprecating shrug, “So sorry,

Where are my manners?

I am Annie.”

Nestor’s eyes twinkled, “Hello Annie.

Well, now that we’ve been properly introduced,

I am just making lunch, have you eaten yet?

Would you like to join me?

I am told I grill a pretty mean burger.”

Yes!

Yes, she would!

She would very much like to join him.

Although she was famished and the burgers were quite delicious, Annie found she could barely swallow a bite.

She was having trouble breathing and her heart was skipping beats as she chatted with this dreamy fella.

Annie wondered if this who Angus the Great meant when he told her he saw something new in her life?

Did he see Nestor in his crystal ball?

She did not know about that …

but she did know something!

Annie was instantly smitten by the charming Nestor!

The day was sweet and they enjoyed getting to know one another.

“It’s time for me to leave,” Annie sighed reluctantly, “I have to get home to my animals. It is feeding time.”

Nestor understood, “Well, maybe I can see you tomorrow?”

“I’m new here and you could show me around.”

Yes, she would like that!

And show him around she did!

In the days that followed they were seen together constantly.

With all that canoodling how on earth did they avoid Poppop’s beloved?

Ahh … perhaps she was off ruining someone else’s life.

Speaking of Aubie, Annie knew it was time to bring Nestor to meet her dad.

The time was getting short.

Very short!

There were only two days left before the inheritance deadline would pass.

She cherished her father’s opinion and would not consider moving forward without Aubie’s approval!

Annie was so happy.

They hit it off right away.

The afternoon was filled with light banter and wonderful farm-fresh food!

Nestor and Aubie shared many common interests but the primary one of course was their beloved Annie!

She knew Nestor had strong romantic feelings for her and she adored him with all her heart too!

Annie knew she had to move forward very soon.

The pangs of guilt were crushing her.

She could not live with herself if she resorted to inveigling him.

No money was worth that.

Flattery and deception would not do, it was time to come clean with him.

But what would he think about this, the inheritance, and her needing to marry so quickly?

She didn’t know!

But tomorrow she would invite him out to the farm, explain everything to him,

and then she would ask him to marry her.

The next day she showed him around her farm.

He was a natural with the animals!

It only made her love him more!

The time had come.

Annie’s heart pained as she explained everything.

The money.

The message from Angus the Great.

Her feelings for him.

Her dreams for the farm.

The money would help provide much-needed repairs to the animal sheds, enlarge the main house, and she could even have a small house built for Aubie to live there.

She told him that she hoped he understood and wanted him to know that the money would be welcome but she would rather give up the inheritance than give up the possibility of growing a future with him.

Although Nestor remained quiet the whole time,

nervously,

Annie fell to her knees and asked him to marry her.

This is an entry into the Monthly Simlit Short Story Challenge for the month of Feb 2022

Soon it will be time to vote …

watch for it and enjoy some wonderful stories that feature the word …

Still time for you to submit one yourself!!

If you like Aubie and Annie, and you want to see how we got here,

you can read more short stories that feature them here:

The Vanquisher

Dad Trouble

Aubie’s Grand Idea

Something Old … Something New

If you would like these simmies in your game, you can find them in the gallery.

The characters:

Annie

Aubie

Angus the Great

Not to Hot (aka Nestor)

28 thoughts on “Annie’s Dilemma

  1. L’amour est dans le pré, le bonheur aussi, Annie a bien de la chance et la vérité est le gage de stabilité du couple , ils s’accordent parfaitement tous les deux. Ce fut une bonne lecture Lisa Merci ♥

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh thank you … I was like could I have picked a more difficult word to fit in anywhere. And I wasn’t even sure if you could put an ING on it but it work. The spellchecker didn’t agree but when I looked it up it said it was OK

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh Annie is smitten with that hunky Nestor. He seems equally smitten with those looks he throws her way.
    Ah, and then there’s Agnes with Aubie — ruining someone’s love life (or encouraging it lol).
    Looking forward to the next chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE THEM. This is another wonderful addition to the ever growing tale. Keep it going please. I look forward to these so much. I can see how LUCKY could fit nicely into the next chapter, wink wink. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a wonderful tale! Annie is such a sweetheart, telling him the truth and even being willing to give up the inheritance for him! I would say she didn’t resort to inveiglement and I hope Nestor feels the same 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cliffhanger!!!! If I was Nestor, I’d be more afraid of the “we need to get married ASAP” than anything else! Knowing March’s theme, I’m hopeful Nestor will say “yes,” but lucky could be Crumplebottom allowing Aubie to get an inch closer to her. I’m SO enjoying your Aubie & Annie series.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reading this I sense real enthusiasm for Nestor. I love when it happens for myself that I get excited about the pairing I have. I don’t know if I’m right with my interpretation though? ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Digging the continued presence of our beloved Crumplebottom! Also, there’s nothing hotter than a guy holding a chicken (yes I romanced Shane in every playthrough of Stardew Valley don’t @ me)!

    Like

Leave a comment